Code & Law Enforcement
Vehicle Titles & Licensing
The new Wyoming Concealed Carry Law:
As of July 1 , 2011 , anyone who meets the same requirements to obtain a Wyoming concealed weapons permit can legally carry a firearm in any place that is not specifically prohibited. The new concealed carry law passed by the Legislature and effective July 1 , 2011 , will NOT permit you to carry a firearm in any other State without a valid concealed firearm permit.
All applications are available on DCI's (Division of Criminal Investigation) website http://wyomingdci. For information concerning CCW permits and the requirements of W.S.6-8-1 04 (b)(c) please access their website, call 307-777-7181 or e-mail CFP@ Wyo.gov. States that have reciprocity with Wyoming can be found on this website.
The Laramie County Sheriff's Office processes CCW applications for Laramie County residents Monday
-Thursday 8:00a.m.-11:00 a.m. and 2:00p.m.-4:00p.m., and Friday 8:00a.m.-11:00 a.m. The application process takes at least 20 minutes. Please be advised that you must check in, with a completed application and supporting documentation, no later than 10:40 a.m. and /or 3:40p.m.
THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE PRESENTED TO THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT WHEN TURNING IN AN APPLICATION FOR A CONCEALED FIREARM PERMIT
I) Proof of firearms safety training. Proof of firearms training is to be a legible photocopy. We will
not accept your original. One of the following will suffice under the statute:
*A certificate of completion of a qualified weapons training class. Such as the Handgun Safety
Class sponsored by Laramie County Community College or a Hunter Safety Course.
*Notarized affidavit from the instructor of a school, club, organization or group indicating successful completion of a qualified weapons training class.
*Completion of any certified firearms safety training course utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association, the Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy or State Certified Instructor.
*Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course offered through the
Wyoming Law Enforcement Academy
*Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized shooting competition or military service (DO Form 522 or DO Form 214).
*Certification as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming Law Enforcement Agency under procedures established by that agency.
*Document for honorable retirement as a Federal or State Peace Officer with a minimum of ten
(10) years of service.
2) Three (3) copies of the on-line Concealed Firearm Permit Application, properly completed. Applications are available on the Division of Criminal Investigation's website: attorneygeneral.state.wy.us/dci/CWP. YOU MUST read the Wyoming State Statute while you are on this website.
DO NOT SIGN THE APPLICATION. IT MUST BE SIGNED AT THE SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT IN FRONT OF A NOTARY
3) $79.00 initial application fee (DO NOT bring $80.00). $50.00 renewal fee or $60.00 for renewal if permit has expired and is within six months of the expiration date. If you are bringing in a Money Order or Cashier's Check made out to DCI you will also need
$15.00 for an initial application,$5.00 for a renewal.
THE FEE FOR FINGERPRINTING/PROCESSING MUST BE IN CASH IN THE EXACT AMOUNT (NO COINS)
MONEY ORDER/CASHIER'S CHECK*
*(Made payable to: Laramie County Sheriff's Department) WE WILL NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS THIS FEE IS NOT REFUNDABLE
We will check the paperwork and have you swear under oath that the information is correct and accurate. You will then be fingerprinted and the application will be processed.
If the proof of firearms training proves to be unacceptable to the Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI)
You have five (5) days from notification to provide the correct information or the fee is forfeited.
You will be fingerprinted and the application will be processed. The Sheriff's Office will notify you by phone when your permit has been received and it will be necessary for you to return to the Sheriff's Office to pick up your permit. Original applications take 90 days, renewal applications take 45 days.
OU MUST BE AT LEAST 21 YEARS OF AGE.
Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas Colorado Florida Georgia Idaho Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Michigan Mississippi Montana Missouri Nevada Nebraska New Hampshire New Mexico North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Pennsylvania South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia West Virginia Wisconsin.